Morsbags…

I have decided to have a go at making some Morsbags. For those that don’t know what Morsbags are check out this link.

Anyway I think they’re a great idea and more of us should be making them and doing our bit for the planet and telling the supermarkets to stop supplying the plastic ones. As far as I’m concerned there is NO need to use plasticbags at all.

So what I thought I’d do is make one and post my efforts on here so you can see how easy it is (or hard, but I don’t think it will be) then it might encourage others to do it too.

I have other ideas up my sleeve on different shaped bags that can be useful so check back here often cos I’ll post what I’ve made. My ideas are not unique, obviously, but  I thought I make different one’s for those who want to go at something a little fancier.

My advice is to check out the Morsbags website if you want to get started now and not wait untill I’ve added my makes to this blog.

Be back soon folks…

OK so I made a Morsbag and I have to say, even for a novice sewer this was easy enough and it only took me 1 1/2 hours to do.

Just had to make sure I got the measurements right and it all went well.

At first I was a bit bewildered that I had to start sewing the side seams of the bag on the outside and then turn it inside out to sew again but it went OK. In the instructions it says that this type of seam is a French seam, so I learned something new too.

I made the bag out of an old curtain that I had and that’s what the Morsbags web site is all about, “recycling” and not using the plastic bags from the supermarkets.

Anyway I encourage you to have a go, I’m a novice sewer and I found it simple enough.

Although I’ve been sewing bits and pieces for most of my life, I’m not trained and the only sewing lessons I’ve ever had was from my mum and my sister (I don’t count school lessons cos I hated them and learned nothing at all).

You could embellish your bags with beads, sequins,embroidery or anything else you can think of to make it a special Christmas present.

I’ve posted pics of my efforts below. The photos are not the best in the world but then I’m no photographer either. 🙂

Crafty Blogs

Published in: on 25/10/2009 at 13:18  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thecraftwitch.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/morsbags/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your blog is a delight..wish you could continue to update it. Love the Reindeer Treats and Snowman Soup.

    You did a fantastic job on your Morsbag. I make and sell them here in the states but we call them Market Bags.

    • Hi Raven.
      Thanks for your comment. I’m hoping to spend more time on my blog this year. I’ve been a bit busy but hopefully that should change now.
      Do you have a blog that I can visit? It would be nice to see it.


Leave a Reply

